‘My escape is to just get in a boat and disappear on the water’.

Recently I was part of a very exciting shoot which took place on a boat on the canal in West London. One thing to know about me is I LOVE boats. In fact, one of my many aims in life is to get my skipper license so that I can sail my own boat one day. So yeah, love the things.

I was lucky to be in the company of so many talented and creative people that day. The owner of the boat, a ridiculously cool cordwainer who makes amazing accessories from leather was the perfect host, sailing us to various locations for the shoot, telling us about the history of the canal and the grand surrounding buildings. We sailed through the picturesque Little Venice and eventually moored in Camden Lock where there were hundreds of folk out drinking along the waterside and the rooftop bars – watching us as we captured the final look of the day and wrapped up.

Some behind the scenes I snapped during the day. How adorable is the husky we had for company?

ImageImage20130723_144616

We had a male and female model on board (literally) and I was Hair & Make up Artist for the female model, Lera. Although I didn’t get a snap of Lera pre-hair & make up I have managed to find a pretty natural shot which I’ve sneaked from her book. Here is the lovely lady.

Image

Lera had gorgeous eyes and really full lips – a dream to work on basically! I decided to use Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation in a mix of shades 51 and 53 until I reached Lera’s perfect skin colouring. There were three looks required for the whole shoot, but only slight variances, nothing too drastic which required me to change the whole look completely.

As this shoot was for submission to a magazine I’m not allowed to share the final images online however I can show you some of the beauty images that were pulled out for me to use for my book.

Look #1

Lera copy

 

This was the first look where I used some golden shades from my MAC palette to create a golden brown defined eye. Unfortunately the harsh sunlight took away a lot of the shimmery golden-ness from the eyes but I’m kind of loving the rusty effect it has created. On Lera’s lips I used a couple of shades from my Kryolan lip palette and slicked my Tarte LipSurgence over the top for some added colour and shine.

Look #2

Lera look 2

 

Here in look two I upped the ante a little, with some stronger contouring (although not visible in this image) using my Dainty Doll blush in 003. For lips I removed the first layers of products with Bioderma Crealine H20 on a cotton pad, smoothed over the foundation and concealed around the mouth area before lining with MAC’s ‘Redd’ lip liner. I filled in Lera’s lips with Russian Red, also by MAC and patted an orange coloured lipstick (Kiss Me by Sleek) for a subtle 3 dimensional look. How luscious do our models lips look here?!

Look #3

Lera Look 3

And finally look three. I used a mix of deep reds from my Kryolan palette to create this deep glossy red shade and brightened Lera’s eyes using my favourite highlighter Luna. I can’t wait to share the final editorial when it comes out, not long now!

Which is your favourite look? I think mine is the last, teamed with those wavy glossy locks I created with my straighteners!

Over and out.

Marie x

cropped-love-and-war-paint-combo.jpg

Leave a Reply

